‘Doctor Strange’ Review

This movie has been in the hype for a really long time and honestly, I was super excited to see it.

However, after having seen it, I am honestly not quite sure what to make of the movie.

There may or may not be spoilers in this review. I will try my best not to spoil anything though, but if I do, I will begin the sentence with a really obvious spoiler effect.

I love Benedict Cumberbatch, Tilda Swinton, and Rachel McAdams. They are amazing actors that I definitely keep an eye out for when looking at trailers.

So to them, I got no complaints.

In fact, I was more surprised with how much screen time both of the female actors got. Because of the way the trailer is cut, I expected them to play much smaller parts. Small to the point where they wouldn’t get much more than 5-10 minutes of screen time, but they definitely got more, and I am not complaining.

It is a Marvel movie after all, so there cannot be a Marvel super hero movie without some funny bits. And there was a fair share of funny bits that definitely breaks the suspense of certain scenes.

I will say though, that because of the nature of the movie, i.e. magics, some of the funny scenes lies in that realm.

The arc for the characters are also very expansive, and the movie itself definitely sends a good moral message.

I am a big fan of making movies seem more moral that they actually are.

In this movie, I felt the movie to be telling the audience to think beyond ourselves, and to think of others and to think of the greater good/future rather than focusing on the present. To expand our horizons and open our eyes to possibilities, even if they do not seem like much of a possibility to begin with.

Now, from my words you may actually think I really enjoyed this movie and would recommend it, but honestly, as I said at the beginning of this review, I am still not sure how I feel about the movie. I am very on the fence about whether or not I like the movie.

On one hand, I want to say that it’s a good movie, but I definitely feel like the actors carry the movie forward and I think that if it wasn’t for the casting, I might’ve felt less compelled to watch the movie. But also because the plot of the movie itself is quite interesting.

But on the other hand, it left me feeling extremely unsatisfied.

It is a very difficult feeling to describe in words, but I can try.

If you have seen any of the previous Marvel movies, you should’ve left the theaters buzzing with excitement, and feeling like you had spent a good two hours sitting in a dark room with strangers.

But with this movie, by the time it ended, I just sat there dazed, questioning whether or not the movie had actually ended. I actually thought that in my head about 10-20 minutes before the end. I had thought: “there’s no way they are ending it like this…”

So this movie was not that satisfying in that regard. [SPOILER-ISH] Yes, there was the traditional big battle, but because of the nature of the movie i.e. magic/sorcery, Dr. Strange managed to actually bypass that part and use magic to change things.

It just didn’t feel right. But also I had to keep in mind that because of his professional career in a doctor, it was immoral for him to injure people.

Regardless, this movie is decent and I am definitely excited for the continuation of the Marvel movies. But as for whether or not I recommend this movie…I neither recommend it, nor want to tell you not to watch it. So use your best judgement in this case, because I really don’t know.

xo

sofieyah

Leave a Reply

