‘Milk and Honey’ by Rupi Kaur Review

I discovered Rupi Kaur by accident through a Facebook post and from that post, I instantly went to look up her book.

When I found it on Amazon, I immediate pounced on it.

Now, not going to lie, I hate poems.

I really don’t like poems.

I think they make telling stories hard and they are just so annoying because it requires so much brain power to understand what the poet is trying to get at.

But I still bought the book anyway. And here’s why:


20161010_12465820161010_12473120161010_12471620161010_124749

Rupi Kaur’s poems go straight to the point. She doesn’t do a lot of those complicated similes or anything and even when she does, you kind of immediately understand what she is getting at by the time you finish reaching her poems.

She writes about her experiences and her hopes.

She writes about the past, and the present.

She writes about the people she has come into contact with.

And all her poems hit you at that special place.

I will admit, that it’s a very quick and short read.

I think I read it in a total of 2-3 hours in one sitting?

It’s definitely a quick read but with the way she structures the book, it flows well and it’s easy to follow.

In the pictures above, I have taken pictures of two of my absolute favourites.

Her poems have life lessons, have inspiration, and have women empowerment sentiment in them. And that’s why I have no regrets purchasing such a book. It’s a book that I would like to keep by me when I need some inspiration. It’s a book that I would like to keep for my children, to remind them that life has good and bad moments.

I highly recommend getting a copy of this if you can (and obviously if you want) because it’s an excellent addition to the book I already own.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

 

2 thoughts on “‘Milk and Honey’ by Rupi Kaur Review

Leave a Reply

