JoJo Moyes ‘After You’ Review

I never got a chance to review Me Before You, just because by the time I actually got to reading it, it had already been available for three years so I didn’t really see a reason to.

However, when After You just came out, I decided that this book needed the review more, since it is the second book.

I gotta say, I was very skeptical at first and I basically avoided reading this book for a good couple of months. 

I had read Amazon reviews online that it wasn’t as good as the second book, and many had said that it was a disappointment. So that kind of put me off. But since coming home for the summer, I’ve missed reading during the school year, so I decided to chance it.

Well, I’m happy to report that this book is just as good as Me Before You! (Movie review here.)

This book still toys with life and death and we see a lot of the returning characters. However, without giving too much away, there are new character’s in the book too.

Lou’s new love interest is almost a polar opposite of Will Traynor.

The new love is openly caring (openly being the key word), unafraid to love and to open up himself, and an extremely strong willed person. …on second thoughts, maybe Lou just has a type haha

Regardless, Lou’s new love interest pulls her out of her long standing grievance and we see the old Lou we had known in the previous book.

Of course, this wouldn’t be a great novel with unexpected twists which, there are PLENTY in this book, if not more actually.

And thinking about it now, this book, while it is see as a sequel, can stand on it’s own. So even if you have not yet read Me Before You, you can read After You without feeling lost. Because don’t worry, the author does bring back Will in her own way, so you will know what happened that made Lou so depressed and “boring”.

If you enjoyed Me Before You, I recommend reading After You. If Me Before You was half the circle, then After You is the other connecting half of that circle.

I am happy to keep this book on my book shelf for a very long time.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

5 thoughts on “JoJo Moyes ‘After You’ Review

  1. I didn’t love this book actually 😦 I adored the first one but felt that Moyes didn’t need to write the second one. It’s not a bad book just not needed for me. I liked your review though!

    1. Yeah! I totally understand haha she could’ve totally left it at the first one but I think a lot of fans needed closure so, probably why she wrote the 2nd one 🙂

Leave a Reply

