L’Oreal ‘Voluminous Waterproof Mascara’ Review

One of my friends use this mascara, and her eyelashes always look amazing when I see her. So when I noticed that they came out with a water proof version, I thought why not try it. So I did.

Packaging:

This mascara bottle is simple, elegant, and cuts to the chase.

I will say however, that it took me a good couple of minutes to initially open the bottle. Because it is so uniform, it takes a lot of time to twist it open initially. But I did it!

The brush is NOT plastic. (Or at least it doesn’t feel like those plastic mascara wands.)

Initial Application:

I didn’t understand why people swear by drugstore mascara’s until I tried this one. It’s called Voluminous, and it 100% delivers. But it also brings great length.20160321_175320-1

It doesn’t make your eyelashes look spidery either. It’s hella dark.

After my initial application, I surprised myself in the mirror by how open my eyes looked now.20160309_081837-1

One thing I hate about every initial application I had, is that no matter what I do, it always gets to my eyelid!! I don’t know what is it I do! And it’s so annoying that I have to go to an extra step to clean up the smudgy mess it made on my eyelids. (But if you wear liquid eyeliner, it will mask the smudginess.)

Lasting Powder:

This mascara can SERIOUSLY hold a curl. Like I’m not even kidding. I’ve never had a mascara that holds a curl so well that it still looks good by the end of a 10 hour day. And this is without my signature look of putting mascara on, waiting for it to dry, and then recurling it.

PhotoGrid_1458596862062
First one was initial application. Second was after two hours. Third was after six/seven hours. The fourth was at the end of the day.

However, I will say that even though it’s meant to be water proof, it still smudges on the corner of your eyes. That’s a little unfortunate, but honestly, I haven’t had a good mascara I liked that doesn’t do that.

But even though it smudges, it does not flake, and for the most part, your eyes still look as open as when you would initially apply it.

Final Thoughts:

Despite the problems of this mascara, I think I may have just found my new favourite mascara. It does wonders for my eyes, and I can finally feel good leaving the house with just mascara!

I recommend it. And even though it does smudge, it definitely takes a little more work to remove, so maybe that’s how they are getting away with the “waterproof” claim.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

10 thoughts on “L’Oreal ‘Voluminous Waterproof Mascara’ Review

      1. Yeah I don’t call it drugstore anymore.. Any brand where products above $10 isn’t drugstore in my opinion lol it just gets sold at a drugstore

  1. Pingback: MU REVIEW: Charlotte Tilbury ‘Legendary Lashes’ – SOFIEYAH

  2. Pingback: 💄 // L’Oreal ‘Voluminous Base’ – SOFIEYAH

  3. Pingback: LOVE LIST: Mascara Favourites – SOFIEYAH

Leave a Reply

