Exploring: New York City, NY

New York City is a beautiful place, filled with culture, night life, a lot of shopping, and a make up addict’s paradise.

And I was fortunate enough to be able to spend a weekend in NYC, experience it’s life and leave my Smith bubble for a few days. I wish I could’ve stayed longer (and had the resources to do it!), but I’ll live with the memories I have.

My blogaries is more of me recapping what I did for my future self than to entertain anyone else, but if you find inspiration for places you want to go next time, I’m glad to help 🙂

Friday April 1 2015 

My Peter Pan bus was cancelled, and it was also an express which, speaking of which, I’m very bitter that they cancelled it without sending an email to us who booked it. Because of the cancellation, my evening plans were practically ruined. I did not arrive in NYC until 7.30pm (my bus left at 1.25pm) and I didn’t get to the hotel until 8pm.

Super unfortunate.

But then we at least had time to go grab some dinner. We had dinner at Burke and Wills which calls it’s style of food Australia. I’m from Australia, and honestly, I did not get that vibe.

I don’t know if it’s because I’m not from NYC or what, but honestly, their food came in super large plates and had very tiny proportions. Their food was over priced for what it was and honestly, it was one of those times when you feel guilty for being hungry, or even for eating.

He and I were both starving, so for the fact that we ordered what we did, it was not even a bit filling.

We stayed at Hotel Belleclaire and it was a nice quaint hotel on the Upper West Side. Unfortunately, the bathroom was so tiny that you had to scoot around the sink to get to the toliet. Definitely not enough for two people.

But the experience was still pleasant. It’s definitely what you expect of a NYC hotel.

Saturday April 2 2015 

We grabbed brunch at Serafina, which was across the street from our hotel, and oh my goodness, it was so good.

I ordered the Lemon Ricotta Pancakes and it was heaven. It was so good I didn’t want to finish it. Their hot chocolate is also extremely creamy and sweet. It was a great meal, especially after our meal last night. (Picture of it’s glory coming later in the post!)

After our meal, we went to the famous Central Park. It was rainy and windy so we couldn’t really bask in the beauty of Central Park. But we got some great views of the city to enjoy.12417758_862923740497302_5499203771677573399_n12963639_862923683830641_8223378115527037681_n
From there, we headed to the MET which is on the edge of Central Park (or in Central Park, depending on how you see it).

12472782_862923663830643_1606419168474418612_n

Okay, let me just say that I hate museums. I think the only museums I have thoroughly enjoyed was the Spy Museum in DC and that was only because it was small, compact, and had all the interesting information.

I always felt that art museums are for those with nothing better to do. Especially because art is up for interpretation, and in order to interpret a piece of art work, that takes time.

But I will say that I still enjoyed the MET… at least for the first two hours. They definitely had some great sculptures/statues. I thoroughly enjoyed the Asian exhibit (most likely because I’m Asian) and the Medieval sculpture/room decor. Those two exhibits fascinated me the most.

12932676_862923473830662_7877192730810969620_n

By the time we finished at the MET, it was already 6pm and our feet was in pain. But we still wanted to go see Times Square.

By the time we managed to walk to Times Square, it was cold, and there was a suspicious truck so NYPD closed off like half of Times Square. If you’ve been and thought it was crowded, let me tell you, them closing off half of Times Square makes it feel even more claustrophobic.

12928258_862923287164014_490354262736576641_n

I barely managed to get to Sephora before we had to leave.

In the end, we took the subway back to the hotel. I forgot how much I missed a good and efficient subway system.

We ordered Dominos for dinner. We were so tired and by the time we could sit and order the food it was 9.30.

Sunday April 3 2016 

It was the day of check out, and it was honestly a little sad to leave the hotel, because of the big bed. My BF and I do not get much time together in big beds, but get a lot more time in small twin beds. So it was sad leaving that comfort.

But then we spent some time walking down Broadway, looking for David Geffen Hall, because we were going to see Christopher Tin’s Calling All Dawns live!

We found the hall, but found no good and “cheap” places for brunch. So we ended up heading back to Serafina’s because I was hungry, and honestly craving their pancakes again. This time we ordered an extra plate of Eggs Benedict. And it was just as good as the other dishes.

12938179_862923250497351_8856280804058191283_n

We got there just as the concert doors opened, and we were on the ground floor in the middle. It was a great seat because we could see and hear everything well.

12932747_862923167164026_5121242030344391742_n

The live music was absolutely spectacular.

Listen to the album here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QR_rKSTM43I

And then, we headed back to Northampton. But not before going to Wasabi, a sushi and bento to go store. Last time I was in NYC I discovered this place by accident because they had a great onigiri with chicken teriyaki. They didn’t have it this time, but their mochi was amazing! Their individually wrapped sushi did not taste fresh so I do not recommend those. It’s a great to go place without opting for an unhealthy fast food joint like McDonald’s.

12933025_862923153830694_6771840504791303953_n


Our trip was super short, and we barely got to visit any main attractions of NYC, but its opened our eyes for where we want to go next time, and what else we want to experience.


 

Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

 

 

Leave a Reply

