Revlon ‘Colorstay 2-in-1 Compact Makeup & Concealer’ Review

As soon as I saw this, I knew that if this worked then it would be amazing. And it would mean killing two birds with one stone.

So I purchased this and I have tried it a good couple of times. 

Packaging:

Yes, it is bulky.

And it is definitely a little gimmicky.

There are three layers: concealer, foundation, mirror/sponge. 20160103_161006-1

Of all the layers, I hate the concealer layer the most. It’s such a waste of packaging, but at the same time, if they had put the concealer and the foundation in one layer it would’ve been more of a pain. So in that way, this is definitely still pretty good.

The concealer is obviously a shade or two lighter than the foundation for all the different shade ranges.

The sponge is like if you put the beauty blender under water, wrung it of water, and then sliced the very middle of it. It’s pretty much a taper sponge.

Application:

I actually decided to use the sponge because I did’t wash my make up brushes and I didn’t want the review to be contaminated with my other foundation.

And actually, the tapered end is pretty good for the concealer, which, I’m sure they did that on purpose. In terms of the concealer, it is extremely stiff. Even when I had swatched it on my hand, I had to really drag my finger around to pick up a good amount of product.

The initial application of the concealer definitely covered up a good amount of my dark circles. PhotoGrid_1452126003362

But as shown from the pictures above, it creased and by the end of the day, I had no more concealer. So the concealer pretty much sucks. (I also don’t think I’ve ever heard any one say Revlon makes amazing concealers.)

When applying the foundation with the sponge, I was first very surprised because the consistency of the foundation is extremely creamy. I barely had to try to get any foundation on my finger.

I would say that this foundation is medium to full coverage. Redness is covered, if you have acne you would need a second layer to fully cover it. It blends well onto your skin.

I bought a shade lighter so I had to use bronzer to make my face look normal.

Lasting Power:

As shown already, the concealer lasting power is terrible.

As for the foundation…

PhotoGrid_1452125799481

I would say it is very good. I would be keeping this compact because of the foundation, not because of the concealer.

I used this for a couple of days without complaints until I noticed that this foundation sticks to dry patches! So do not have dry patches if you want to use this foundation. That was such a disappointment for me. But I am still going to keep this foundation because it’s still amazing and does everything I want a foundation to do.

Overall Thoughts:

I do like this product, and I do recommend it. But please just keep in mind the problems I had with it and decide for yourself.



 

Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

5 thoughts on “Revlon ‘Colorstay 2-in-1 Compact Makeup & Concealer’ Review

Leave a Reply

