2015 Favourites || sofieyah

Beauty

Face

20160109_124631-1

NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer

Just like how everyone in the world loves this, I love this too. Sometimes I don’t like it as much because you gotta use your fingers to really make it smooth on your face. 

Marc Jacobs Re(marc)able Full Cover Foundation Concentrate

Review here.

Burberry Face Contour Stick

Review here.

Benefit Dallas Blush

I’m not a big blush person but I love this blush because it’s so normal. It’s a color that is neutral but still pink enough where you have a bit of color.

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder

Review here.

Eyes

20160109_124915-1

Kat Von D Shade & Light Eye Palette

Review here.

Smashbox Brow Tech Matte Pencil

Battle here.

LOC x Tati One & Done Shadow Stick

Review here.

Lips

20160109_125002-1

Charlotte Tilbury Lip Cheat Iconic Nude

A little drying, but the color if gorgeous. And even if you put color lipstick on top of this nude liner, the color still comes out beautifully if you layer it on enough.

NARS Audacious Lipstick Charlotte 

SO GORGEOUS.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Cruella 

I’m buying the full version of this when I’m out.

Brushes

20160109_125031-1

Sephora Collection #11 Pro Smudge Brush

Perfect for the eyeshadow on your lower lash line.

Eco Tools Large Powder Brush

Real Techniques Stippling Brush

Real Techniques Setting Brush

Love this for highlighting and/or setting under eye concealer.

Skincare

20160109_125104-1

The Original MakeUp Eraser

Review here.

Belif The True Cream Moisturizing Bomb

Review coming!

Haircare

20160109_125142-1

Argan Oil of Morocco ‘Weightless Healing Dry Oil’

I AM SO IN LOVE WITH THIS THAT I HAVE NO WORDS.

Fashion

20160109_125338-1

Ann Taylor Heels

The perfect kitten heel. I used to hate those straps but somehow this looks good… I don’t know how or why!

H&M Leather & Suede Shoes

They remind me of vans, but possibly better quality. Plus, this is a nice way to add a little bit of color but not too crazy. It’s like a pale purple grey.

Aritzia Auxiliary Tote (Similar)

20160109_130002-1

Seen here.

Love this tote. But if you put too much stuff in it it does get heavy! However the shape of the front of the bag is not the best… if you set it down on the floor a lot it eventually leans forward.

Nordstrom Project Social T ‘Tomorrow’

20160109_125842-1

I hate t-shirts. But when I tried this on, even I had to admit that this t-shirt is amazing. It’s so soft and if you buy it a size up it really looks great.

Anthropologie Oriental T-Shirt

I’m not a print person, and I’m also not an Anthropologie person coz they have such expensive things, but I couldn’t pass on this t-shirt! It was just too beautiful.

River Island Chunky Ankle Booties

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS SHOE.

QuayxShay Australia Vivienne

20160109_125445-1

Review here.

Ten Thousand Villages Sky Stone Ring

20160109_125550-1

Movies

Cinderella

Review here.

Inside Out

Avengers: The Age of Ultron

Review here.

Ant Man

Review here.

Lifestyle

Chloe Love Story

I wish I had enough money to buy the bottle…

Sephora Collection Instant Nail Polish Remover

Polaroid Fujifilm Instax Mini 8 20160109_130207-1

Starbucks You Are Here ‘Seattle’ Mug 

[WARNING: I did NOT purchase my mug from Amazon. I purchased it at my local Seattle Starbucks where it was around ~$15. I just linked it to show what it looks like.]20160109_125603-1

Umbrella Tea Infuser

20160109_125634-1

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Review here.

People

Bindi Irwin

As an Aussie, the Irwin family is practically royalty in Australia (but not like royalty you look up to in the way they dress). This year she was on Dancing with the Stars and almost every time, her dance made me cry. Especially the ones where she was dancing for her father.

I remember when the death of Steve Irwin rocked Australia. The whole world seems to break down into tears. But this year, everyone around the world could see how much she has grown and as a fellow Australian, I couldn’t be prouder. It’s hard to lose a father, but it’s even harder to lose a father in front of the entire world. Chances are, Bindi won’t be reading this but if she happens to be, thank you for being such a strong and positive influence for all girls who have suffered hardship.

Watch her finale dance here.

Events

Road Trip Vacation with Family

My family don’t go on vacations a lot because my parents are always really busy and I feel bad asking.

But last summer I spent an amazing time visiting national parks and I realized how much nature can change the way you see life. I saw a lot of great things, and I don’t regret any of it.

Universal studios here.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I spent about a day and a half in LA and for our full day, my sister and I spent it at Universal Studios. It was an amazing experience! (But I wouldn’t go back unless it’s with my own kids.)

Meeting Tati from GlamLifeGuru

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

Boyfriends 21st Birthday

Chocolate covered strawberries. Picnic. Family gathering. Cuddling. Enough said.

Wicked, the Musical

I’m not usually a musical person, but I loved this! It was amazing! And even though our seats were kind of far, the experience is something I will never forget.

Hiking in WA

11856412_749377368518607_4671204607521559322_o

Washington has amazing hiking spots and amazing views. But I never knew what I was missing out on until we did this. Even though the day we went hiking it was extremely muggy and disgusting, the entire trip was just worth it. It was really nice to do something different than watch Netflix.

Parents Wedding Anniversary

10409370_753852048071139_4924390182623228910_n

We went up to the Seattle Space Needle! I did the stupid thing and wore heels, but the view was great, and even though the restaurant was expensive, the food was amazing!

11058615_753851871404490_6807964070682622079_n

Declared Economics Major

Hopefully it will forever remain a good thing… haha

5 Days with Boo


 

2015 was a hard year. Most YouTubers said they had a good year but the same could definitely not be said of me.

I had many moments in my life where I wondered whether or not I was doing the right thing: whether I was at the right school, doing the right major, dating the right person (yes, unfortunately I do have those moments), writing the right opinions (on this blog and else where), and just in general, living the life I want to live.

Not going to lie, this blog and my boyfriend is one of the few things in my life that I have managed to choose. Of course, I can choose my friends, what classes I want to take etc., but it’s hard to know where my life would’ve been if I had chosen a different college, a different set of majors, etc.

I’m not going to complain, my life is great right now. I am 100% aware that I am luckier than most, but at the same time, I can never help but wander…

Either way, 2016 is a new year, and that means a new start. I have already set my own resolutions, and I made them abstract enough to keep up with them. So I am not going to apologize for the decisions I have made for this blog. I like it the way it is.

I’m sure my life will get better. It’ll all be okay.


 

Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

One thought on “2015 Favourites || sofieyah

Leave a Reply

