STYLESCOPE: Ripped Jeans

I probably don’t have as much “authority” as many fashion bloggers out there for giving advice on certain types of clothes, but I’m definitely still going to impart what I have learned to you guys. I watch so much fashion bloggers that I feel like I have mastered some of it for myself and collectively, here are my tips! 


I split the different kind of ripped jeans by a couple of things:

  1. the wash of the jeans
  2. the types of rip of the jeans
  3. the way it looks on the body

Below are my current two favourite pair of ripped jeans (and actually the only ones I own) and I have showed you how I would wear them.


_DSC0281

Jeans: Topshop

Shirt: Nordstrom (Project Social T)

Jacket: Goodwill

Shoes: Sperry Top Siders

These pair of jeans are from Topshop and I would describe them as a soft denim with a light baby blue wash with one slit on the knee on each leg and is quite form fitting.

Since the denim is so soft and pastel looking, I went with a neutral but pastel looking t-shirt that I tucked in a little and then a pair of flats because I wanted it to be a soft look on the inside. But, it still is a pair of ripped jeans so, I put it with my favourite thrifted leather jacket to add a punch.


_DSC0347

Jeans: Nordstrom

Sweater: H&M

Shoes: Dr. Marten’s 1460

Beanie: ASOS

These jeans are a dark grey (my boyfriend think they are black.. -.-) with multiple small cuts and because they show a little loose on my legs, I kept the bottom half of it quite bad ass with my Dr. Marten’s. Not only do my Dr. Marten’s keep the look quite rough below my waste, it also elongates my legs by slimming down my pants towards my ankle.

I added my cream sweater to soften the top part of the look, and then the beanie to further keep it soft.

I love the contrast between the rough and the soft.


Ripped jeans are not a pair to pair, it just needs the right balance.

When I look at an outfit, I think about the multiple ways I can wear them and which one I can pull off better. Since ripped jeans are so ripped (pun intended) I always prefer keeping the top half extremely light and soft since it balances the roughness of the jeans. Obviously, you don’t have to. I’ve seen people who put rough on rough and it will look good. But because of my light brown hair, it would look weird on me.

Anyway, I hope this was helpful! And once again, thanking my good friend, Sarah for these amazing photos. Please check out her website: http://cargocollective.com/sarahlievain

Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

One thought on “STYLESCOPE: Ripped Jeans

Leave a Reply

