L’Oreal ‘Voluminous Super Star Liquid Eyeliner’ Review

One of my favourite eyeliners is from L’Oreal and it doesn’t smudge on me, so when I saw their new eyeliner in stores at Target, I grabbed it, thinking the best of it.

Unfortunately, it is quite disappointing.

Packaging

20150918_101023_HDR-1Sleek, beautiful, and standard liquid eyeliner packaging. What can I say?

Fortunately, there is one good thing about this eyeliner and that is the brush. It isn’t stiff, but it also isn’t super flappy. It is just perfect to give you a nice thin line since the tip is very thin.

This eyeliner is marketed for giving you a thick and thin line. Since I only use a thin line, I can say that it definitely gives you the thinnest line.

Initial Application

My first impression was high quick I managed to do my eyeliner. It isn’t super liquidy, so it’s not messy whatsoever. I managed to achieve a nice thin and precise line in half the time I usually need.

Unfortunately, that is where the good part ends.

Now… for the negative part… (I almost don’t want to write this…)20150918_101037_HDR-1

To achieve a very black line, I couldn’t do it without drawing on my hand a little. When I first used it, the eyeliner was black. But when I moved onto the other eye, I realized that it had lost it’s pigment on the tip. So I put some on my hand and reapplied. Now, I must warn you that there is always a potential on getting a splotchy reapplication, but for the most part, it should be pretty smooth.

Another thing is that, I typically apply eyeliner before I curl my lashes and for the most part, my other L’Oreal eyeliner doesn’t come off when I curl my lashes. However, this one did. Just a heads up. Give it some time to dry.

Lasting Power20150914_172821-1

Within the first hour and a half, both eyes were smudged. Now, I’m not going to go into my eye base problems (if you want to know, you can click here) but for both eyes to smudge, that is not a good sign.

But not only did both sides smudge, it actually smudged the whole thing. Like there is a dark grey line the length of my entire eye on my left eyelid. What? That has NEVER happened before! I don’t know what’s going on…

Final Thoughts

This isn’t the worst of the eyeliners I have tried so I definitely don’t hate it, but I would only recommend it to those who do not have double eyelids, especially if they are oily. It’s just not worth the problems. Still, I am not dissing L’Oreal because I love most of their make up very much. It just seems that their newest make up releases are disappointing.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

