September #ReaLife 2015: Too Much Stuff

While I was packing to go to school, I realized how much stuff I had.

I have a book shelf full of books  I don’t even touch. Half my closet are full of clothes that are sentimental to me, rather than clothes I wear on a daily basis. I have so much make up and skincare that I don’t even get a chance to try half of them.

What am I doing with all this stuff?

The answer?

Nothing.

It’s just sitting/hanging with no life purpose and no value.

Why do we need so many things? Why are we so materialistic that we collect things?

Why do we buy souveniers from the places we have been to rather than print the pictures we have taken and put them into a photo album?

When I realized all this, I decided that I’m going to get rid of things.

While I was packing, I got rid of clothes that I do not wear. I got rid of books that I do not read. And I got rid of make up/skincare that I’m probably never going to touch.

I don’t see myself stop buying things any time soon. But I am way more self conscious with the things I buy now.

Do I need it? Or do I just want it?

That is the best advice I can give any one possibly. Whenever you are about to buy something, especially if it is something costly, do you really need it?

If you are ever wondering why I haven’t done a large beauty haul in the past couple of months, the biggest reason is because I don’t need any more beauty things. That’s not going to stop me from buying the occasional thing from Sephora, and it isn’t going to stop me from purchasing stuff at their friends and family sale, but at least I won’t be buying things that I don’t really need.

Justify what you want to buy.

We don’t need all these things. We have one body, one brain, and one face.


As always, don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

