August #ReaLife 2015: LDR aka. Long Distance Relaitonship

No one ever told me that being in a relationship is easy.

But no one mentioned how hard it can be either.

And sometimes I think about whether or not all the pain I go through is worth it, but then when I hear his voice again, and see his smile, I know that it is worth it.

I am currently in a long distance relationship, and pretty much have been for the entirety of the relationship. But not only is the distance hard, but also the fact that I have to hide it from my parents doesn’t make the distance any easier.

But today is not about that. 

Today is about how to not only surviving a long distance, but also how to know when you are ready to be in a long distance relationship.

When I was in 8th grade, I dated my first boyfriend. He was truly a sweet guy who I will never forget. But back then, I was young and naive and refused to put myself through all the hurt and pain of being in a long distance relationship. So I ended it with him. I knew he was hurt, but I was constantly in the mode self protection because that’s how I was brought up.

As I got older, I continued to be in denial of long distance relationships.

I liked being able to physically be there with the guy and go on spontaneous dates and such without having to plan things too much you know?

But then you meet this one person who you feel like was meant for you, you know?

And then you just know.

You just know that you need that person in your life or you cannot imagine your life without him.

You just know that you need that person in your life or you will feel like you will fall apart without him.

Just to clarify though, I am not one of those girls who revolve their world around the guy she is seeing.

I need my own life, and my own friends. But I love having him by my side, telling things to and being able to rant to without worried about being judged for the things I am saying.

Anyway, back to the long distance thing… you just know.

Sometimes you just have to trust your gut and go with it.

Are you thinking about being in a long distance relationship? Or am currently in one but is barely managing to hold on?

Well, here are my tips!

If you are thinking about long distance… there is a practical tip and then a not so practical tip but just as important.

Let’s start with the practical tip.

Make a pro and con list about long distance. But what you should do is do it for yourself and when you are alone. You shouldn’t let the person influence you what you decide to write onto the list.

I didn’t do this, but I already decided my answer to the less practical tip.

My less practical tip is just one question: Do you see a future?

I’m not saying marriage and kids (but if you do, that’s totally fine as well). I’m just saying can you see spending your life with the person and giving that person your heart, time, and even money.

I saw a future. So I decided to stick it out. And to this day, there is still pain and hurt, but the moment when I see him again, it’s like falling in love all over again, but you already know the person.

Long distance is hard.

But when you see that person again, kiss that person again, hug that person again, hold hands with that person again, you will feel that it has all been worth it.

And if you truly love that person, then you will feel that it has been worth it.

For me it has.

He is the one I’ve been looking for. Just to clarify, I don’t necessarily believe in true love, but I believe in working hard at a relationship.

He is the light of my life and I honestly cannot see my life without him.

So, here it is. Long distance relationships.

These things are so interesting, because I never really know what I am going to write about in the month until I have a hint of inspiration. And today, I was just sitting without an arms width away from my man, and I knew I wanted to write about this.

Because I am not the only person that goes through this and I never will be.

But, I just want to let you know that everyone has different ways of dealing with things like Long Distance Relationships. This is just how I deal with it.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

