Hourglass ‘Ambient Lighting Powder Palette’ Review

Do you guys remember when these initially came out and the whole Beauty community was buzzing? I swear all the YouTubers that I was watching then had one in their possession and would mention it at least once into their monthly beauty favourites.

So naturally, being as beauty obsessed as I am, I had to get in on some action. However I wasn’t sure which one I wanted to get. Apparently Hourglass knew that so then they came out with this palette (that was at first limited edition but them made it permanent) and I jumped on getting it.

Of course, the packaging itself is absolutely beautiful and sleek. Nothing short of the standard Hourglass packaging. The mirror that comes with it is very thin and elegant. I would say though that the mirror isn’t good for on-the-go since it is so long instead of wide.

The powder is as gorgeous as all the YouTubers made it out to seem.

It’s silky, and definitely has a glow to it without being glittery.

At that time, all the gurus in the Beauty world was saying that it worked best as a high lighter but also as an all over face powder since it would give your skin a lit from within sort of glow.

So I did both and here were my initial findings.

In terms of being a highlighter, it definitely brings out a lit from within glow. HOWEVER, it doesn’t last very long on the skin. It also sinks into pores and makes pores much more visible.

As a powder, kind of the same deal. It didn’t blur out my pores which is the first thing I need in any sort of face powder I use.

However I was still pretty satisfied with it because at that time, this was the only highlighter I used.

But then I laid my hands on the Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow and my opinion of the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder Palette completely changed.

The lasting powder of the palette used to be acceptable, but now it’s completely unacceptable. Comparatively, the powder of the Hourglass palette lasts for maybe an hour or two and it also isn’t as glowy as the highlighter in the CT Duo. Of course, I’m not saying that the CT duo is in your face glowy, but it’s more of an obvious glow yet it doesn’t make you look shiny.

After awhile, I also realized that when you swatch the palette powders separately, it would look somewhat different in terms of shade on the back of your hand, but on your skin it looks exactly the same. This really shows that you are paying ~$60 for a palette of the same powder. For me, that is completely unacceptable.

I have been putting off writing this review because I knew it would be one of the few negative reviews of the palette, but the beauty community deserves to know. While yes, this palette is a good value for money, it isn’t worth it for the skin. I would much rather you spend your money on the CT Filmstar Duo than this palette because even with just one highlighter, it makes your skin look flawless.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

