CoverGirl ‘Intensify Me!’ Liquid Liner Review

I just want to let the world know that I’ve never really been into CoverGirl as a brand. I’m not sure why, but I just could never get into any of their products. Even their most famous mascaras I was iffy on and didn’t use past the point of writing my comparison (read here).

But I kind of wanted to break this streak because one of my favourite YouTubers did a video on their value pack with their mascara and liquid liner. It was honestly perfecting timing because I am in the need for a new mascara and new liquid liner but I don’t tend to want to spend that much on either products, especially liquid liners. However, after this one, I might have to.

Even though I don’t tend to gravitate towards CoverGirl, I wanted to keep an open mind. When my favourite YouTuber reviewed this, she said soooo many great things that I thought it would be worth a true.

Man, was I WRONG.

20150706_112827_HDR20150706_112841_HDR20150706_112856_HDR

For the first time, I actually have the opposite opinion to the YouTuber (and that’s okay — make up is individual).

She said that it was really black, intense, and long wearing.

Well, it was none of those.

First Application 

Because of the weird paddle shaped wand, it is very odd trying to make a thin line across your lid. It would make a lot more sense if the edges were sharper, but no — it’s too round to use that tip so you kind of have to hold it horizontal to your eyelid. And even then, you need a very steady hand to get a nice thin line.20150706_112307_HDR-1

And maybe I got a bad one but the color was not opaque. Even my L’Oreal liquid eyeliner (I have yet to do a review on) is better in terms of the darkness because that one builds a lot easier. This one, you gotta wait until it is COMPLETELY dry to build, otherwise the color just skips and looks even worse.

Now, when I did get it opaque enough, I still held out hope. Because if it actually worked, I don’t mind spending an extra minute or two building the color…but no.

Wearability 

20150706_112315_HDR-1
With no eye base on my eyelids.

I have naturally oily eye lids and this did not hold up well.

If you have double eyelids like me, it doesn’t look great.

It will transfer onto your upper eyelid, especially during the summer when you sweat a lot more, whether you want to or not. If you have single eyelids, then you can probably get by this.

But then I thought, maybe it’s just my eyelid problem. Maybe once I put on eyeshadow and an eyeshadow primer it will have better wearability (since that is also how the YouTuber wore hers). So I put on my eyeshadow primer and my Kat Von D eyeshadow and thought nothing else of it.

20150706_201634_HDR-1
With eye shadow primer at eyeshadow

Now, mind you, I barely did anything once I put my make up on. Seattle wasn’t super hot today so I didn’t sweat as much as I usually did so I was so surprised and frustrated when I looked into the mirror around four ours later and the eye liner had transferred all over my upper eyelid AND a chunk of eyeliner was just missing where it rubbed off.

I was mad. And I still am. I have never experienced so much transfer in my life with an eyeliner of this sort and am extremely disappointed.

Final Thoughts

20150706_201632_HDR-1
See that chunk of eyeliner that was just missing? Well, it was on my eyelids.

I know this isn’t the kind of review most people look for but unfortunately, I have nothing but negative things to say about this product. Not even one positive thing came from this experience. And I will most likely be throwing this away tomorrow or putting it in a pile to do a Disappointing Product post.

Regardless, this isn’t worth the money or the hassle.

I’m sorry if I bummed anyone out but this is MY thoughts. Like I said above, I have double eyelids that fold into the part where I put eyeliner, and they are also very oily usually so if you have neither of those problems, maybe this will work for you.

I don’t understand how the YouTuber managed to make it look so amazing but, regardless, I don’t like it. And I’m sorry CoverGirl.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

P.S. I’m sorry that this review is so negative… but the world is not perfect. Many bloggers do not write reviews on products that are disappointing (say writing one line on a “Disappointed Products” blog post) and I don’t really want to be like other bloggers. If I buy it, I’m most likely going to review it, good or bad.

But this is NOT a bashing on CoverGirl. One make up product does NOT speak for its entire brand. They have some great mascaras…as my next review will show 😉

Leave a Reply

