Half Yearly Favourites 2015

Makeup 

Chloe ‘Love Story’ 

After I had my 20th birthday, I’ve been on the hunt to wear, smell, and generally, be more mature in the way I present myself. Perhaps my first step towards that goal was my scent.

20150629_151703_HDR-1I have long hated the strength of floral and sexiness of scents like the classic Chanel No5. I don’t know, I was just never a fan really. I liked something light and sweet that would also represent the kind of person I am (not specifically telling you guys that I am light and sweet…) and when I smelt this perfume, I could see a strong future with it. So I bought the travel size and am currently on my second travel size.

The larger bottles are just too expensive for me right now, but hopefully, it will be in my possession this upcoming November. Keeping my fingers crossed! (And I do not discriminate between seasonal scents. I think there is a fine line to being a little too high maintenance…if it’s you, it’s you. Are you telling the world that you are a different person in the winter than in the spring?)

Charlotte Tilbury ‘Filmstar Bronze and Glow’

Real Techniques Stippling Brush 

I have been relying on this trusty brush for a lot lately but mostly just blush. I don’t know why but I actually prefer applying no blush at all and just contour/bronzer and highlighter. I know that’s probably frowned upon because then I have no color but I feel like it just makes me look fine.

However, I am trying to bring color into my life and this stippling brush is so incredibly soft and fine that it always distributes the perfect amount of color. If it weren’t for this brush, I might not even venture into the blush department at all.

Kat Von D ‘Shade and Light Eye Countour Palette’

Makeup Eraser

Skincare/Haircare

Sukin Rose Mist

Of all the rose hydrating mists I have ever had the pleasure of using, this is downright my favourite. The nozzle brings the mist very finely into the face, and because of the nozzle you only need a couple of spritz and you will have enough for your entire face. However, because it is such a fine mist, you can really over spritz. Sometimes I think I sprayed half the bottle because I thought I didn’t spray enough. But that meant it lasted a very short amount of time. Definitely buying it for the winter months! 20150629_151806_HDR-1

Palmer’s Replenishing ‘Hair Milk’

A good friend recommended this to me for my hair and I love it.

Although I do hate the coconut smell, it gives my hair a very healthy look. Love it. A penny sized amount if enough, but you can add more if you have longer hair in my opinion.

HerStyler Hair Curler

Heats up quick, curls your hair quick, what more can you want?

I purchased mine on Amazon and to be perfect honest, I don’t like tight curls so what I do with this curler is, when I want my hair to be curled on a certain day, the night before I will wash my hair and then curl it before I sleep. I then sleep on the curls and it will really loosen them up to look like a hybrid of curls and waves. Perfect for me.

And it keeps your hair curled for a good couples of days too. No complaints there!

Hair towel

My close friend also recommended this to me and I love it. I leave it in for an hour or so and it pretty much my hair quicker and sucks all the water out of it. Plus, it keeps my hair out of my way for a good hour. Perfect.

Fashion 

Saressa Design 

Quay Australia 

Loafers 

While summer is the ideal time to break out those heels, I actually most of the time choose comfort over fashion and loafers are the way to go for me. They are just so comfortable and so stylish.

Shift Dress 

If I was to choose one kind of dresses to own for the rest of my life, these would be it. I just love how comfortable they are while giving you plenty of room to style around it. Honestly, everyone can look amazing in a shift dress. Take it from the girl with the big butt, big thighs and slightly protruding stomach.

Light Shorts 

20150629_152215_HDR-1I fell in love with this trend like a week and a half ago and cannot get enough.

I’ve always been the denim shorts kind of girl coz they make me look amazing (in my opinion, and my opinion only — although my boyfriend does approve) but these kind of light and airy shorts are just so cute and simple. You can just pull them on and be comfortable for the rest of the day.

I have two pairs now, but I cannot guarantee that I won’t go back to H&M for more…Plus, at H&M they are only 12.95$ and to me, that’s a huge bargain.

Lifestyle/Entertainment 

The Avengers 2: Age of Ultron 

Pitch Perfect 2 

‘I Really Like You’ by Carly Rae Jepson 

It took some time to really get into this song, but just like Call Me Maybe, I cannot get enough of it. Even though most of the song is the exact same line, I love how catchy it is and how much it makes you want to karaoke. Listen to it if you haven’t.

‘Sparks’ by Hilary Duff 

One of the few Disney actresses that didn’t stray is back with an amazing song! I have yet to listen to her album, but I am incredibly excited. I love this song and am so glad she came back with such an amazing song. The music video itself is a little…risque for me? Not really the concept but I swear it was like she was wearing high waisted underwear that was shiny. I don’t know, she has a son and I don’t feel good about celebrity parents who do those kinds of things. Still, it’s her video and she is beautiful.

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen 

Sherlock Holmes 

Do I really have to explain? It’s a classic.

FRIENDS

Probably don’t have to explain this either LOL

Murphy’s Law of Love (Taiwanese) 

There are going to be people that are going to be like “what? drama? huh?” Well, yes, I love me some drama too. But, I have watched so many as a kid that I feel like there are very few dramas that surprise me anything. THIS ONE DOES. Take it from a girl who has watched Taiwanese, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean dramas: this is one of the best. Plus, Danson Tang is cute as a bun.

(Yes, I listen to this in Chinese. I am Chinese after all! But you can find English subs all over the internet!)

Soundcloud 

A good friend of mine introduced it to me and I love it for the most part.

This is what I would use soundcloud for: if there is a song you are on the fence about but don’t want to constantly click on YouTube, then you could probably find the original or a remix of it on Soundcloud. Soundcloud is also the best place to get a good remix of the song.

‘Beauty Rest’ Eyemask

I’m going to sound terrible after I say this but I will say it anyway: I cannot sleep with ANY lights on. And I wake up easily to sunlight in the morning, noise (apparently I got some good ears), and or anything else that will wake me up. I never really used this before, but then I went on a road trip with my family and this thing is a lifesaver.

It blocked out all light and I love it.

Word of caution, if you have straight-ish hair, maybe tie your hair up to use this…coz it will slip off your hair. Unless you don’t move when you sleep, then you don’t have to.

Food 

Homemade Chocolate Covered Strawberries 

I tried this once but it never work out for me. The chocolate just wouldn’t stay on the strawberry! But when I made it this time I decided to dry the strawberry before I dip it… AND IT STAYED. I made it for my boyfriend for his birthday and he loved it 🙂

Grilled Cheese Sandwich 

Thank you essiebutton for teaching me how to make a good grilled cheese sandwich! I owe half my worldly pleasures to you.

Magic Tube 

It’s the worlds simplest smoothy maker and is making my summer a lot more healthier! Now I want a juicer…


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

