April #ReaLife 2015: Life (& Death)

I just want to say that I am a 20 year old so I may know a lot less than people who are older than me, so please bare that in mind as I talk about something that impacts every single one of our lives.

I don’t want to say ‘in honor of’, because what I am about to talk about isn’t a good thing, but the Nepal Earthquake.

I am not Nepalese, I do not reside in Nepal, and I have no family in Nepal so there is no way for me to truly understand the horror and problems that the people are going through. 

But, Smith College recently had a vigil for the earthquake, and through that vigil, I learned something important: Nepal people are strong. They feel like other people, but they are also strong willed people who can be resilient during times of crisis. One student talked about the response the people in her neighborhood had after the earthquake: they laughed. And that really ringed a bell to me.

Many people may say that laughter is the best medicine, and perhaps in this way, it is true. Laughter keeps us strong, keeps up looking at the positive side of things.

And here I may say the worst things that can be debated, but where there is life, there is also death. In this age, there is a weird emphasis on immortality and praying on immortality. So in this technological age, we forget to live our life to the fullest, ignoring the potential of death/end of life. We are consumed by the potential of power, potential of money, and potential of living like the rich.

This is not me justifying the Nepal earthquake in any way. If I could control that, I would never let anything like that happen to such great people. But we just need to remember that we are not immortal. We do not live forever. And just as life was given to us, it can be taken away in a bat of an eyelash as well.

I have seen Death, and I have people I loved already gone to Death and all those instances just motivated me further to live my life.

I may not have the luxury to travel wherever I want, or the luxury to give up the possibility of my future to experience other things instead of studying for final exams, but I still choose to do things based on what I want to do, and what I enjoy doing.

I want to live my life according to me, and not anyone else. Because it is my life and I don’t want to die without having done the best I can.

Anyway, in such a moment like this, I am thinking of all the people that have suffered from the earthquake, whether through the loss of loved ones or the loss of their homes and I am giving all the help I can.

I just want to let you all know that we are blessed to be alive. Blessed to live the life we choose with the help of technology.

Stay positive everyone. Because that is the only way to live, and that is way the Nepalese people are.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

