February #ReaLife 2015: “Fat”

The world has such a screwed up view of body image.

Hands up if you agree!

I never realized this until a couple of months ago…

From a young age, my mother always cautioned me from eating too much candy, or just eating too much food in general in case I become fat. She always told me that it’s a lot easier to gain weight than it is to lose weight and I never really cared about my body image.

She would go on to say that if I get too fat I would never find a husband or anyone to love me. 

(I have some mother huh?)

But as I got older, I learned a few things about body image:

1. No one cares.

Literally, no one cares. And, I learned that if I ever met someone that did care and judged me against my body type, then that person is not worth any sort of consideration.

Do you really want a friend who thinks you’re fat?
Do you really want a boss who discriminates you because you’re “fat”?

And what does fat mean in this age anymore?

It means that even if you have a little bit of belly flab, you’re called fat.
It means that even if you have a little bit of a thick thigh, you’re called fat.
It means that if you cannot fit into size 2 skinny jeans, you’re called fat.

I’m so sick and tired of people thinking that I’m “fat”.

I’m not.

I was born into this body and I am not going to put my body through hell just to be “skinny”.

I love food. I enjoy a good donut (although I’m not obsessed so I don’t have them that often anyway), a good slice of pizza, and a good hamburger.

I’m never going to be one of those stereotypical girls that order a salad on a date. That’s not filling!

I learned that over the years, if I’m happy with my body, then that’s all that really matters. I shouldn’t care what other people think of my body because they do not have to live with it. They can judge it all they want, but in the end they are only judging it because they have nothing better to do.

I didn’t realize how big this was getting in society and into my head until I was talking to my friends and I told them that Abercrombie and Fitch was finally selling “plus-sized” clothing. They looked at me like I was crazy. They started going on a rant that I am not “plus-sized” and I realized that they were right. They could see me better than I could see myself because I am not plus sized.

I’m a regular normal human being who just cannot find clothes that fit her in a lot of major stores because their version of skinny if a size 0-4 and I fit in none of those sizes.

“Fat” is a socially constructed term that means nothing if we hadn’t give it meaning.

So let’s stop.

I know that I’m a tiny blog that cannot really change the world that much. But I strongly believe in small steps.

If one person can stop seeing other people in terms of their body weight, then that will carry onto their friends, and then the friends of their friends. I try hard every day to not look at people based on body image. They are themselves because of their personality, not their body weight. Keep that in mind.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

