Maybelline ‘Fit Me Matte + Poreless Foundation’ Review

I was about to leave Smith when I went to go to CVS to get some essentials for study period when I saw these on display. Now I knew it was time for the drugstore to release new makeup but I think what surprised me the most is that it was a new formula of the Fit Me Foundation. I have a weird history with the Fit Me foundation in that I have tried to try it but was not successful (because at that time I was very new to make up and didn’t know how to find my perfect shade).

Anyway, so I was really excited to try it. Plus, the foundation bottle claimed that it is matte and poreless – two of my favourite stuff about foundation.

So anyway, let’s keep it clear that I first bought the 200+ foundation (I don’t remember the number but I think it was called buff beige) and I realized that it was pink toned. I went back to Bartell’s and saw that all the 200’s-300’s are a pink toned foundation. I realized that the 100’s are yellow toned. So, if you want it don’t make the same mistake I did! Of course, Bartell’s does allow returns and exchanges so, it’ll be okay if you get the wrong shade.

My first impression of this foundation is that I wish there was a pump. Or, at least, similar to the Dream Wonder foundation, have a sort of applicator so I can be the judge of how much I pour out. But in general, it’s a pain to pour out. Like even in the beginning, I constantly had to put more on my face to use up the left over foundation and it was annoying me. I might have to go find a pump for it.

20141222_102256

Now let’s begin with the general foundation formula. I would say that this foundation is medium coverage. While it doesn’t fully cover my redness, it definitely covers a majority of my scars on the sides of my face. In general, the coverage is very buildable so it can reach full coverage if you want but, it can look cakey if you put too many layers on.

Now, as for whether it is actually matte or poreless. I wouldn’t call it completely matte. When I look in the mirror, I wouldn’t say that it’s shiny either. While I cannot say if it is matte or not, I can definitely testify to whether or not it is poreless.

On the first day of having it I put primer on the left side of my face (my DIOR Pore Minimizer that I know definitely minimizes my pores) and left the right side completely primer free. On a side note, even when I applied the foundation on my bare face it didn’t feel disgusting or weird on my skin.

Now with the primer it definitely makes it looks EXTREMELY poreless. When you look from a considerable amount of distance, the left side of my face literally looked like it was photoshopped. However, the right side of my face (no primer) still looked poreless but just a slight less. It would be hard to tell from a far distance which side looks better so it definitely lives up to the name of poreless.

As for lasting power, the side with primer lasted much longer. For a starter I could still visibly see the bronzer I put on earlier on in the day. I had worn the foundation for ~8 hours. On the side without bronzer, the bronzer was almost invisible. It had been coming off but it wasn’t completely gone. So, it is safe to say that even if you do not wear primer, this foundation will last for a considerable amount of time on your skin. Something else I noticed is that usually around late at night the foundation around my mouth and nose will have pretty much rubbed off and my redness would be peeping through. With this foundation though, it was still pretty much intact, on both sides. So that completely took me by surprise.

Overall, I really enjoy this foundation.

It’s funny how the only part of my make up routine that is from the drugstore is usually the foundation. And I think I have really taken a liking to this foundation. It was pretty good timing too, since I’m almost done with my Dream Wonder foundation.

If you can find it at your local drugstore, I definitely recommend you to try it out. The only thing I wish it had was a pump that I might end up purchasing separately to make using it easier.


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

