Rimmel ‘Provocalips’ Review

20141223_221139Fleur De Force on YouTube has a blog and a couple of months ago she got a sneak preview and swatched it. Now, I tend to make it a point to not watch or read any reviews about something I am reviewing because it might influence me or make me do things differently when I try it. But, that blog post was a long time ago and I remember nothing she wrote except remembering the name and the packaging of this new lipstick from Rimmel.

20141223_22270720141223_222734

20141223_22282220141223_222831

Now, I hadn’t seen it and I didn’t know when it was going to be released, but then I went to my local Walgreens and saw these on display (I think it was also a new display because it was randomly placed on the counter where you check out.) and I instantly went to pick some up. The range isn’t very large, but there is a very night range of pinks, one or two reds and a nude pink.

20141224_111516
Bleeding lip color
20141224_103613
Initial application

When I initially applied it, my first reaction was at how pigmented the color way. I put on one coat and it was so vibrant. However, my next reaction was that the dome foot applicator isn’t very helpful. It doesn’t prevent any bleeding and that’s never something you would look forward to when applying any sort of a lip color.

The color itself dried pretty quickly. However, it is sticky and I made the mistake of smooching my lips together which made the color end up all patchy. When I reapplied it I put on the gloss layer before I unconsciously smooched my lips again. Now, the gloss itself definitely makes the texture of the lips way more smooth and feels more like a lipgloss on your lips.

Now, as for wear.

It markets itself as kissable lips with a lip color that lasts 16 hours.

I can personally testify to the kissable part. The day I first tried it I was on my way to see my boyfriend. Now, on the bus I was that awkward person who kissed the back of my hand. I wanted to make sure that it doesn’t transfer so I know how hard I can kiss the boy. None transferred, so I was more daring. When I kissed him, none transferred. Thank goodness.

However, even he noticed that it was a very sticky lip color.

Now, when it finally dries down, I noticed that it dries down to patches. If you have ever seen pictures of places with droughts and saw the grounds, it dries down to those kinds of patches. It also sinks into the fine lines on your lips and accentuates them. However, the good thing is that it’s only obvious when you’re at a close proximity to the lips.

20141224_142112

As for the lasting power, it definitely lasts through meals. I am generally a fairly messy eater and even when I ate two or three meals at the end of the day, the color was still fairly visible. Also, when I used napkins it didn’t transfer onto the napkin! Which was a very pleasant surprise. However, if you do use a napkin to wipe your lips, you will notice specks of color coming off, but I don’t think it changes the color on your lips much.

Now, if you do wear this lippy to kiss your significant other, you will find that the lip color will not last as long on the insides of your lips. If you do not use them for kissing, then a majority of the color will stay on the lips.20141224_142115

As for the effects on your lips, it is quite drying. I have a bad habit of picking at my lips when it’s dry and the skin starts peeling off. It took a lot of work to not do that to my lips.

However, the biggest thing that can either be seen as a good or bad thing is that it is a pain to remove. I’m not even exaggerating.

This is how I know.

Usually whenever I wear a lip color, if it has lasted the whole day, I could remove the lip color easily when I use my Dior cleansing oil on my lips and it’ll come off without a lot of work. This one though, didn’t come off at all. Like none.

Even when I wiped my lips on my towel, not all of it came off! It was a long day so I just gave up and went to bed. The next morning, it was still there! I didn’t know what to think.

I wore it again on Christmas and it wasn’t coming off. I Googled and found an easy way to remove it. What I did was slather Vaseline on my lips, waited for a minute or two and then exfoliated my lips (I used the back of my toothbrush) and it was gone.

Overall, I really enjoy this lip product. However, I don’t know if I would purchase any more colors. I feel like the cons far outweigh the pros. I do know that I might buy a red just to have that option so I can wear it if I’m going to see my boyfriend.

I don’t know if I would recommend this product. While during the day it is pretty no-fuss (no need to reapply), during the night it is just too much work and too much fuss. However, if you do enjoy it, please let me know!


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

2 thoughts on “Rimmel ‘Provocalips’ Review

Leave a Reply

