2014 Favourites || sofieyah

It’s the end of 2014 and a lot of the time I wonder to myself where has the time gone.

Time seriously seems to fly and I swear it was a couple of days ago that it was January and I was wishing everyone I loved a Happy New Year!

No doubt next year will be the same, and then the year after that.

However, this year has marked some pretty important things for me, this blog included.

I don’t do monthly favourites (because I don’t think I have enough favourites every month to share out with the world) but I would love to do yearly favourites (for as long as I continue this blog at least!) so here are my 2014 favourites!


Beauty:

IMG_9468

Brushes

Sigma F86 Tapered Kabuki 

Sigma F40 Large Angled Contour

Tarte The Buffer Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation Brush

This year I have really gotten into the whole make up thing and brushes in particular. Before I generally used my fingers to do most of the make up application (yes, including foundation!) because I didn’t know how obsessed I would become. This year I decided to really branch out and now I have way more than enough make up brushes than I need. The ones listed here are the ones that have really changed my life and the way I apply make up.

(P.S. I will never use a Beauty Blender because it requires too much maintenance and I got no patience or time for that!)

Face 

Charlotte Tilbury Filmstar Bronze and Glow

Dior Pore Minimzer

Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder

Maybelline Dream Wonder Fluid Foundation (the link is NOT the color I use)

It seems like I have quite a few face favourites. I’m pretty heavy on my face make up because I have too much imperfections to cover and the ones above are the few this year that have really changed my life.

Eyes 

Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer 

Tarte Eyelash Curler

Tarte scandelEYES 

Tarte Lights, Camera, Splashes 

emCosmetics Waterliner Black Night

If I am too lazy to put on a whole face of make up (which most of the time I am anyway — I just don’t understand how some girls can walk out of the house every day with a full face of make up…I’m too lazy for that haha) then I always, without exception, do my eyes. I like a bold eye and I like long lashes. If I had to give away all my make up, I would never give away my mascara, eye lash curler and my eyeliner. Those 3 are must have essentials for me. (I can live without concealer because a bold eye generally distracts from my dark circles).

Lips 

MAC Viva Glam Red

MAC Lovelorn 

Bite Beauty Matte Lip Crayon in Sucre

Somehow I managed to collect way too much lip products in the past year and I am generally not proud of it. One of my few resolutions this year is to stop buying so much lip products. At least until I use up quite a few of them (plus, I have every shade a girl could ever need so what’s the point of buying more you know?).

Perfume 

Chanel Chance eau Tendre 

Giorgio Armani Si 

Aerie WHOA!!

Clean Rain 

This year was the prime year of perfume discovery and I’m happy. I feel like this year I have really grown as a woman and as a person and I have started to like much more mature scents. I know this because of the higher acquired taste in perfume brands. I know some people don’t think the brand has any correlation to the type of perfume but for me there is.

Chanel, for me, is the highest of maturity and I’m so glad that I fell in love with the Tendre. (I personally really dislike No. 5…)

Both these two scents are very mature yet girly at the same time. I never liked such floral scents before until now (I prefer sweet and clean scents).

Nails

L’Oreal Smell the Roses 330 

I’ve been on the hunt for a nice fall nail polish and I found it at my local CVS! L’Oreal really makes the most amazing nail polishes and is completely underrated for the formula.

This is seriously, the PERFECT dull pink nude. It literally makes my fingers look GORGEOUS. I cannot love this nail polish enough.

Skincare:

Kate Sommerville ExfoliKate 

Best exfoliator I’ve ever used, hands down.

Rose Water

I’ve started using Rose Water as a serum/toner recently and I’m in love with the way it makes my skin feel so bouncy and hydrated. Perfect for winter and on the go.

Bio-Oil

This is a relatively new discovery but I am loving it. It’s a type of oil that heals scars etc after consistent use. However, I only use it like once a day sometimes or every two days because the oil is quite heavy. It’s an expensive product but you really need very little for each use.

Haircare: 

Tangled Teezer 

I didn’t know the power of this hair brush until I came to college without a hairbrush and had to buy one. This has been on my list of things to buy for a long time and I am happy I got a chance to get my hands on it. If you don’t want to buy it on Amazon, Urban Outfitters also sells them!

It’s a 10 Detangler 

This is a miracle. I swear. Too bad it’s so expensive!

L’Oreal Hair Ombre Color 

I ombre’d my hair this year and I am totally in love with the result. It also doesn’t make my hair very brassy so, hooray!

Color Protecting Shampoo + Conditioner

I don’t particularly care about the brand but I’ve really noticed that my hair color lasts a lot longer with these. I noticed it when I ombre’d my friends hair and her hair color started to disappear within the first two weeks of application while mine was still very vibrant.

Argan Oil 

Let’s be real, this is an essential product. It smooths our fly away hairs, brings shine to your hair, and moisturizes it for the whole day/night (depending on when you put it on). I will never stop using Argan oil ever.


Fashion: 

IMG_9465

Left to right:

ASOS Infinity Scarf

2020 Ave Plaid

Urban Outfitters Kimchi Blue Cardigan

Forever 21 Denim Washed Jacket

Forever 21 Floral Dress

The clothes above are for fall/winter. I don’t want to keep everyone on here all day so I just want the world to know that I’m all about fall clothes and the ones above are seriously some of my favourites that I can rotate wearing. IMG_9467

Left to Right:

H&M Trench Coat

Forever 21 Chiffron Shirt

Forever 21 Lavender Chiffron with Lace

H&M Kimono Cardigan

The clothes above are spring/summer clothes. There’s not that many because I didn’t bring a lot of summer clothes with me in college. IMG_9466

Forever 21 Pointed Booties

Aerosoles Riding Boots

Kate Spade Saturday Large A Satchel Rosewood/White

[Not Pictured] Rebecca Minkoff MAC

[Not Pictured] Michael Kors Jet Set Travel Wallet

A lot of the things above are fairly new but they are my favourite purchases. The two boots in general because it’s taken me a long time to find a pair of nice booties that complement my short stubby legs and a nice pair of riding boots that actually fit my lower legs.

(Obviously I thought things through when I took the picture for this category :p)IMG_9469

Canadian Dreamcatcher Earrings

Claires Leaf Earrings

I had a pair of star studds on before but I was taking them out and I lost the backing of one of them so I just decided to permanently wear these until I find a nice pair of studs.

I love these both so much because they aren’t heavy but they look gorgeous with any outfit.


Books:

IMG_9470

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green (Review)

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini 

Sherlock Holmes Part 1 + 2 by Sir Arther Conan Doyle (link is not the exact same — I bought my copies at a used book shop)

Make Up Life Guide by Michelle Phan (Review)

The first two books are from the first half of the year and the last 2/3 is from the second half of the year. I feel like a majority of these books are pretty self explanatory.


Movies/TV Shows: 

Mona Lisa Smile

One Day

The Fault In Our Stars

Big Hero 6

The movies stated above were the movies that touched my heart this year. They all genuinely made me feel something in my heart and changed my life in a very positive and emotional manner.

Friends

Sherlock

Pretty Little Liars

Reign

I don’t like starting new things unless I get pushed and this year, my boyfriend pushed me to watch Sherlock with him (which I fell in love with) and I fell in love with it. Pretty Little Liar’s has been my love for more than a year and it is my favourite this year as well. Lastly, I discovered Reign on a whim because I love historical things (except at that weird time frame between historical and old…to me there’s a difference) and it’s just totally action packed. Plus, the actors and the actresses are so beautiful!


Lifestyle 

IMG_9471

Cosmopolitan

I’ve always loved Cosmopolitan but there is a weird stigma to it because it’s known as the “sex” magazine but honestly, it’s the one magazine in America that has legit articles about everything a young lady in this era needs to know about. I’m not subscribed to it, but I pick it up monthly.

Fuji Film Instax Mini 8

I recently got this as a gift and I am so stoked to have it in my possession. I love photography and this year it has been truly amazing to be receiving this as a gift ❤

Period Pad Holders

This might not seem like a big deal but it is for a girl who goes through monthly bleeding, this is very helpful and important. Pad’s are a little awkward to just take out of your bag and take to the bathroom (even if it’s in front of girls) so with this pad holder, you can really take it with you without receiving any stigma or weird looks. Plus, it’s adorable! I’m thinking of giving my sister one so she can stop using Zip Loc bags…

Settlers of Catan

I’m not a huge fan of board games but this one has got me OBSESSED. It’s not like other board games where it’s based purely on luck, but it’s also based on strategy and being clever with what you do. It’s very brain moving.

Smith College Yoga Mat

My college gave me a free Yoga Mat. Need me say more?

Build A Bear 

My boyfriend bought this me as a gift leaving college so I would always have something from him to hug in bed.

Netflix

My family doesn’t pay but I wanted to so, yes, my 2014 favourites.


People/YouTubers: 

My family

I am not appreciative enough of my parents or my sister but they have really stuck through with me through all the stuff I have gone through this year. They support me through everything, even paying for my college tuition in a state on the opposite side of the nation.

My boyfriend

IMG_2476

I love this man like crazy. He’s the best and…I’m incredibly thankful for his presence in my life.

My baes IMG_9409

Left to right:

Dear Julia: All my happiness at Smith comes from meeting you. On that one fateful day of going to the presentation on studying abroad, I met the sweetest girl ever. I had actually thought of not going to that meeting but the later one but I decided to go anyway, and I am so glad I did. You have such a beautiful smile and I am so glad that we’re friends. Thank you for introducing me to my happiness at Smith.

Dear Aditi: THANK YOU. I don’t think I’ve trusted anyone as much as I have trusted you in the past four years. Somehow you managed to make me come out of my shell and I am so glad you did. I knew it was about time for me to start trusting people and I’m so glad I am beginning to trust you. Thanks for making me laugh so much too 😉

Dear Jess: You are such a sweet girl. Thank you for always trusting me, for always telling me how amazing of a person as I am. I’ve had a ton of friends in my life time but none of them has ever made me feel as great about myself like you have. I am seriously so fortunate to have met you. I guess I really gotta thank Julia for that haha. Thanks so much bae, for everything.

Dear Camilla: You cute sweet girl! Thank you for being such a sweet girl and being so amazing in my life. I hope we get to spend more time together love!

essiebutton

2014 was a year of YouTubers and this year, I fell madly and deeply in love with Estee. Her chilled out attitude and the way she doesn’t afraid of saying what she feels is just the best. Sometimes some YouTubers edit out the bits that aren’t relevant or are too private but she puts them all in her videos and it makes her feel so much more human to me than other YouTubers. I LOVE YOU ESTEE (p.s. Thanks for being my inspiration <3)!!

eleventhgorgeous

It took me quite some time to get used to them but after I did, they just BLEW MY MIND AWAY. I cannot stop watching them now. Seriously, they make me laugh so much and whenever I had a semi hard day, as soon as I watch their videos, I immediately feel better. Tip: their “how not to do makeup” is the BEST to watch and also one of the funniest videos they do!

Amelia Liana

I discovered her through essiebutton and what I love about Amelia is that she is so chill. Her hastag, #feelingspendy, is what goes through my mind every time I spend too much at Sephora, or just shopping in general. And something about her videos always makes me smile and feel warm. Some times YouTube videos make me feel like I’m doing chores, but her videos always makes me feel like I’m talking or listening to a friend. It’s the best.

Tati

She is one of the most underappreciated YouTubers out there. I love her videos because she not only uploads every day, but she also has a different theme for every day so she’s just not aimlessly producing videos with no goal in mind. Plus, she’s real. She says the good and bad about each product more than other YouTubers. Her voice is also extremely soothing and… #SeattlePride


Events (In Chronological Order):

Beginning this blog

Senior year went by in a blur but once 2nd semester rolled around things began to really slow down. Like, really slow down. And I was in desperate need of preoccupying myself before I started to spend 10+ hours at home watching tv or something…so I decided to begin this blog. Plus, I was having so many ideas and so much beauty products that I needed a reason to buy more in the future. Plus, I think writing a blog post is less of a time commitment than producing a video. I’m very thankful for all those that follow this blog and enjoy reading what I write!

College Acceptance

No doubt that as a senior in high school during 2nd semester, you start getting nervous about whether or not you’ll be accepted into the college of your choice. For me, I didn’t get accepted into any of the colleges that I wanted to go to, but I did get accepted into some that were more amazing than I ever thought and I am so grateful for even getting accepted. I am beyond happy with what choices I had.

High School Graduation

High school was really a whirlwind and I’m so glad that it’s over. It has been a truly eye opening ride and brought me great tears of laughter and sadness. Graduation was also a whirlwind, but it made me very happy to be done with high school and to move on with my life.

San Francisco Trip

It’s not very often in my life that I have a chance to travel without my family, but it’s also much more rare to be able to travel with my lover. The trip was absolutely amazing to be able to explore a new city with someone that I don’t get to spend a whole lot of time with to begin with. Those 5/6 days were some of the best days of my life.

Smith College

The whole experience was absolutely sensational. Was it hard? Of course. Was it sad to leave home? Yes. But through it all, even though it’s only been 3.5 months, I’ve grown so much as a person and as a woman. It’s been quite a journey and I am in love with my school. I already, never want to leave.


Recap: 

This year has been a whirlwind and I genuinely do not know where the time has gone. Have you ever heard of elderly people saying that the older you get, the quicker time goes? Well, I’ve really been feeling that this year. I’m only 19 (turning 20) but time is also running away from me.

This year in college I learnt that time is the most valuable thing a person owns, not money. So everyone, CHERISH YOUR TIME.

I have also been the most luckiest girl this year with people that love me who surround me and make me a better person than I was a year ago. Thank you, to all those that have impacted my life, positive or negative.


Don’t forget to end the year with a bang! And a sm:)le!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

