Selena Gomez ‘The Heart Wants What It Wants”

There were rumors earlier this year that said she was coming out with new music. However I have learnt that you have to take caution with rumors because they can become true, but they can also be completely false.

So when I woke up one morning and saw that she had a new music video up, I was mildly confused but also extremely excited.

So let’s just start with the video.

I love that it was in black and white. I think the fact that it is black and white makes it more simple, and also helps the listener concentrate on the actual song rather than the graphics. We all know that Selena is an amazing actress so I wasn’t surprised that she was amazing in her own video.

I heard talk that people didn’t think the male actor was that good looking, but I think that may have been the point. The song is about her and how she gave in to her own heart, so why put a huge spotlight on the man? Of course, the man is important, but once again, the song is about HER and what her heart wants.

After I finished watching the entire video, I felt many things.

I felt that Justin Bieber should be ashamed that he hurt Selena like that.
I felt sorry for Selena.
But lastly, I had respect for her.

Don’t get me wrong, but I always did respect her. I respected her for her artistic work, her songs, and her humanitarian works as well. But it wasn’t really until this song did I have respect for her as a human being, and as a woman.

I genuinely felt like crying after this song. Because the message of her lyrics are completely spot on, and you know it’s a good song when you can hear the artist sing with her heart.

There was huge speculation that this song was about Justin Bieber, but, like I said, I don’t like accepting rumors until it has been confirmed by the person in question. And she did confirm it.

I am always hesitant to call any celebrity my role model because I feel like a role model should be a source of inspiration and not just entertainment. Selena Gomez has been on the fence for quite some time and it took this song to bring her over the fence to the ‘Role Model’ side.

Of course, she doesn’t need my approval (per se), because all her fans see her as a role model. She puts her heart into everything she does and I really, really, commend and respect her for that.

I know the chances of her reading this is tiny, almost non-existent, but I just want to let you know, Selena, that you are such a beautiful and amazing woman, and artist. You inspire not only me but also all the people that adore and look up to you. I know that you grew up in the camera’s eye, but the fact that you still hold your head up high and still put yourself out there means you deserve the highest medal in the world.

On a separate note, this song made me think of all my ex boyfriends. It made me realize that none of them were good for me and that I just wanted them for, perhaps, the sake of wanting them. This song has been long overdue in the music world, and I’m so glad that Selena Gomez was one of the first in this century to come up with such a beautiful song.

Even though this song is quite simple, it is also elegant and catchy in the best way.

Favourite lyrics: “You got me scattered in pieces
Shining like stars and screaming
Lightening me up like Venus
But then you disappear and make me wait
And every second’s like torture”


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

