The Veronicas ‘You Ruin Me’

The Veronica’s is a twin sister duo from Australia. They made their fame with quite catchy rock songs and I remember singing to them in the radio back in the early 2000’s when I still resided in Australia. Their fame left as quickly as it had come because they had a lot of contract problems with their original contractor. But, after 5-7 years of hiatus, they have finally come back!

Let’s get one thing straight though, this is definitely NOT their first song in the past. They have come out with two other songs in between their hiatus: Lolita and Cross My Heart.

Now, in some ways this will be a biased review because I seriously adore them, and their music always speaks to me. However, even if I had to tear this song apart, there would be little to tear apart. Regardless, I shall do my best.


I was initially very surprised when their single came out to be a ballad. They are more known for their rock voices and the rock quality in their songs because a lot of their songs are very catchy with an upbeat tune, even if it wasn’t such upbeat lyrics.

So I was definitely pleasantly surprised. However, the ballad quality of this song still showcases their voices individually. If you have never heard The Veronica’s, you might find it had to distinguish their voices and it took me some time too. However, their voices are slightly different and this ballad really shows of their individual voices. I must add, however, that I enjoy their music a lot more as a duo because their voices have the same kind of range and it feels like you’re listening to one person sing.

Now, going onto the lyrics, I love it too.

I don’t know if anyone else have had a lover, or friend or parent that has screwed you up so bad that it has traumatized you? I have. This song speaks so clearly to me, which has always been a reason why I love The V’s so much. Yes, this song aims at a boy, but who is to say it couldn’t be for a friend or a parent? This song brings me back to a hard time of my life, but it also makes me appreciate my life right now.

When I finished listening to this song, I felt like my heart was crying. It’s so heart wrenching and heart warming at the same time.

I love this song so much.

However, I must now tear the video apart. I am honestly, not the biggest fan of their video concept and here is why: it has been done before. I forgot who did it, but I’m positive that kidnapping the boy that broke their heart has been done, and so has the whole ballerina theme. I wish they had been a lot more original. But, to argue their side, it’s hard to come up with anything original nowadays, unless you at Miley Cyrus, Katy Perry or Lady Gaga.

Regardless, in the whole video, I love how there was a stage for the girls to stand on. It helped the song feel more real. It was like they are exposing themselves and they are proud of it, because of the spotlight on them.

This song is just so amazing and beautiful. I cannot wait for their album. I’m praying that their album will have a rock song that I can dance to! But, that should be a given. Regardless, this song is so perfect that I’ve got no words. You rock The V’s! xo

Favourite Lyrics: 

“‘Cause you play me like a symphony
Play me till your fingers bleed
I’m your greatest masterpiece
You ruin me”


Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

 

 

Leave a Reply

