Colbie Caillat ‘Try’

As some of you may have noticed, this week was pretty un-beauty related. I wanted to write about something else other than beauty so these were the things that I chose to write about. Next week though, we’ll be back on track 😉


I love a lot of pop songs. But I also really love songs with a real message behind it. And of course, I’m not saying that songs don’t have real messages behind it, but I mean messages aside from “stop falling in love for looks only” or whatever. I’m being generic, but I’m sure you all understand me.

Anyway, I heard about this song because it was going around on Facebook with some of my female friends and I thought I would listen to it.

And you know what, I love it.

I love the message and when I first listened to it, I was welling up. Because this song pretty much sums up my life in a way. Trying to look beautiful for other people and trying to make myself look flawless with a ton of make up on.

The lyrics of this song really do speak out to me, and I think that’s why it’s so popular around the girls.

I think what makes this video so great is also that it’s not just Colbie there. There were other girls of different sizes, races and imperfections. It was refreshing and beautiful as I watched them all (Colbie included) takes off their make up bit by bit. And towards the end of the video, there was also a side by side comparison of the girls before, with make up, and the girls after, with no make up.

They look genuinely happy with themselves, and that’s what I love about it.

However, I have scrolled through the comments before and there are a lot of people on there that think this video is about not wearing any make up and that they think it’s very unlikely Colbie will not wear make up. I would like to address that.

This song is about loving yourself. About accepting yourself and knowing that you are beautiful, with or without make up. She’s not saying that you cannot wear make up. She’s saying that wear it for yourself, not for others. You’re beautiful the way you are and if you want to wear make up for yourself, go ahead and do it. This video may show girls taking off their make up, but towards the middle it also shows Colbie putting on makeup, except she’s just putting on eyeliner and a nude lipgloss, trying to go natural.

If you are one of those people who look at this song/video in a bad view, please stop. Understand the video and the song lyrics before you judge someone else. Of course Colbie will continue to wear make up but at least she’s true to herself right?

And then there are certain people that see this as a market ploy to get more purchases and to those people…not everything is about money. Have you ever thought that maybe she genuinely cares about the girls out there?

Also, I have seen some people write that this video/song is sexist towards females and that girls should not listen to this song…*shakes head*

This song is about embracing yourself. About loving yourself. About believing in yourself and knowing that you are gorgeous whether or not you wear make up, do your hair or whatever else women can do to try to look “perfect”.

But isn’t perfection just a individual ideal? Perfection changes from person to person so I hope that no one who reads this is chasing to society’s “perfection”.

Because we all know the truth about perfection right? It doesn’t exist.

Favourite lines: “Wait a second,

Why, should you care, what they think of you

When you’re all alone, by yourself, do you like you?

Do you like you?”

Read more: Colbie Caillat – Try Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Something extra: http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/colbie-caillats-video-takes-beauty-ideals/story?id=24545556

Similar song:

 

Leave a Reply

