Bubble & Bubble ‘Pret-a-Powder’ vs. Drybar ‘Detox Dry Shampoo’ Battle/Review

Before I go into this blog post, I would like to take a second and remember all the people that sacrificed their lives so we could all have a life in this world. From the deepest of my heart, thank you, for all you have done to save the American people and to sacrifice your lives for our future. Thank you.


Now let’s talk hair.

There three physical attributes I like about myself and here they are, in order: 1. my smile; 2. my eyes and; 3. my hair. My hair is pretty important to me, and here is why: when I was young, I didn’t have much choice of what kind of hair style I wanted. When my parents thought that it was getting too long, they took my to the garage and gave me an impromptu hair cut. And when I got a lot older and could actually say no, I got one of those hair cuts that are a little short but have tons of layers so it makes you head look really poofy. So in my entire life, I have never really had to deal with long hair- until this past year at least. 

And while I used to love short hair, I also adore long hair because there are an infinite amount of styles I could do to my hair to change my look so I am adamant about protecting my hair to the best of my ability. I try not to spray too many things into my hair so there is no build up and everyone knows that you shouldn’t wash your hair every single day. If you do wash your hair every single day, then I highly recommend you to stop. It isn’t good for your hair.

But there are some people (me) who if they do not wash their hair, by the second day, their hair can get pretty oily. My hair gets extremely oily to the point where after a second night’s sleep, my hair/my bangs are disgusting and I gotta find a way to pin it up or tie it up. I run my hands through my hair a lot (habit) so that makes up the oiliness. And ever since I have heard of a thing called the dry shampoo, I’ve been looking for a good one. However, when the hype was all around the Batiste Dry Shampoo, I gave it a try, and it didn’t change anything except maybe for about 30 minutes so then I gave up for a period of time.

Then I heard of the Bumble & Bumble Pret-a-Powder and the Drybar Detox Dry Shampoo at the same time, so I knew I wanted to compare the two. And here they are…:


 

Bumble & Bumble Pret-a-Powder

I had never heard of this until Ingrid Nelson from missglamarazzi talked about it in her recent favourites video and I decided to give it a try.

Mostly because she said that the dry shampoo is a powder and I was curious about how that would work.

When I got to Sephora I saw the bottle and was extremely dubious because it’s a kind of a small bottle and my first reaction was “I’m probably going to end up using this in no time…”.

When I got back home though I opened up the cap and there was just a tiny hole inside. When it comes out, it reminds me a lot of baby powder and I was expecting it to be extremely messy so I didn’t do it in my bedroom but went into my bathroom. And it was surprisingly easy.

Because the hole is so small it makes it easy to direct it, you just need to find the right angle. Once you put the powder into your roots, just rub it in, and you can definitely see some volume.

However, while it does volumize slightly and definitely does soak up the excessive oil it doesn’t remove the oiliness feeling and the oiliness look.of hair after like six hours. However, in the first hour or two it doesn’t look that way.

While it definitely looks oily, it doesn’t feel extremely oily, but after a 6 hour school day it’s enough.

I don’t regret buying this, and I might purchase this product again if I do not find another dry shampoo that actually works.

(This powder has no lasting smell and you cannot see it once you have massage it into your roots.)

Drybar Detox Dry Shampoo

My local Sephora didn’t have the large size of this, which I am thankful of because even the tiny size is expensive! But in my experience, dry shampoo’s didn’t work well on me so I wouldn’t have gone for the full size anyway.

This dry shampoo has a very strong nozzle and like most dry shampoo’s, it sprays out a white powder that when you put it on your roots and massage it, it disappears leaving clean(ish) hair with a small amount of volume.

When you spray it on there is a strong cooling feeling and it stays on a bit when you run your hands through your hair.

The smell of this dry shampoo is also incredibly strong. I sprayed it on myself in the morning, and about three hours later when I was getting ready to leave the house, the smell still lingered around my head. After a while (three hours!) the smell does completely disappear.

However, I didn’t understand the hype of the shampoo until the day after I sprayed it on my hair (I sprayed it on Saturday so I’m talking about Sunday). I had tied my hair into a tight-ish pony tail on Saturday before I left and left it in a pony tail until Sunday afternoon, just before I was about to take a shower. But when I untied my hair into a pony tail, my hair didn’t feel oily whatsoever. I was seriously surprised. It didn’t feel oily, and it didn’t even look oily. If I didn’t know any better, it was like I just took a shower the previous day (Saturday).


 

Both

While the Bumble & Bumble doesn’t have a smell, the Drybar Dry Shampoo has a very empowering perfume scent that definitely follows you around in the initial hour or two of application. So in terms of smell, the Pret-a-Powder definitely takes the lead.

However, in terms of application, I think I definitely prefer the Pret-a-Powder because it’s just easier and to be honest, a strong spray nozzle scares me, mostly just because I never know when it might come out and whether or not I press down hard enough. Once again, the Pret-a-Powder takes the lead.

The way it looks however, the Drybar Detox definitely looks great. It looks like I just took a shower yesterday so, that’s a plus for the Drybar Detox. In terms of feeling, it most definitely feels like great hair, clean hair.

And also, staying powder? No doubt it is the Drybar Detox. So for me, there is no doubt that the winner of the two is definitely the Drybar Detox Dry Shampoo.

While it does have an empowering smell and a strong application, I prefer the ultimate result of the dry shampoo. Now I know that there is a Dry Shampoo that actually works, when I’m done with the Pret-a-Powder I know I’ll be purchasing the large can of the Drybar Detox.


 

Let me know if you have tried both of these products or if you’ve only tried one, let me know what you think of the products. If there is another dry shampoo you would like me to add to this comparison, feel free to comment below!

Don’t forget to SM:)LE today!

xo 

∞ sofieyah ∞

Leave a Reply

