Numi Organic Tea Review

Now, I am not a huge tea drinking person. Even though I’m Chinese a lot of people think that I am obsessed with tea but nope, not that obsessed. But then I watched this video about weight loss and heard that tea helps fill up the stomach if you drink it before a meal which prevents over-eating and decided to try it out (but that is also not the ONLY reason).

 

So I talked to my friend who loves tea and asked him to give me some suggestions and he gave me a few links. However, for some reason, this company stuck with me the most so by the time I decided to purchase, I went back to this website and looked around. The teas I bought were one of the top favourites of each category.

 

Anyway, so I bought it and below I will give some information about the company and describe the tea in the best possible way I can.

 

…I have so much things I want to say I don’t know where to begin…


Okay, let’s start with the organic factor. I am currently studying Environmental Science at my school and it has made me very environmentally self-conscious. Now, it just so happens that the friend who recommended me this company is also very environmentally conscious (I think….or, I hope so!).

 

Numi prides in reducing their carbon footprint on the plant. They support a lot of small farmers and those farmers do not use herbicides, pesticides or chemical fertilizers.

 

Their tea bags are also biodegradable which is a definite plus.

 

In the box the tea comes in, there is a Eco-Responsibility Audit and they give the consumer some data. They include:

 

  • Trees saved: 6,956

  • Landfill reduced: 447.392 lbs

  • Energy Reduced: 3,683 million BTU

  • Water Reduced: 3,119,468 ga

 

While these numbers might not seem very significant to you but to me, a student studying environmental science, those numbers mean the world.

 

They also are Fair Trade Certified which means they make sure that all their workers are at least paid minimum wage and can use that money to get them out of poverty.

 

I don’t think there is anything bad to say about this brand.

 

Now, moving onto the review of the tea’s…


White Rose

 

This was, for me, a very risky purchase. It was risky because I had never had any kind of other tea besides Green Tea that I actually liked. People I know seem to love Black Tea, Earl Grey and even English Breakfast Morning Tea (or whatever the actual name is…) which I dislike. I don’t know, something about those tea’s just aren’t appealing. I think it’s because they are all super bitter…

 

Anyways, I wasn’t expecting anything huge or special. ACTUALLY, I was expecting to hate it and just end up having it go to waste somewhere in my pantry, but omg, it was sooo much better than expected!

 

This is, I believe, what tea lovers would call a floral tea. It’s main ingredients of flavor is rose and who knew roses could taste so delicious!

 

Looking at the tea bag, you can evidently see small rose petals and I think it’s so soothing. The aroma isn’t strong and is very sweet.

 

This is labelled as low caffeine and the way Numi introduces their scent is as follows: “Our enchanted White Rose blends the smoothness of delicate, organic white tea with whole organic rosebuds. This sweet and fragrant liaison is as provocative as it is healthy.”

They did a much better job at explaining it than I did.

 

Will I Repurchase It?

 

Oh yes yes yes. It is so unique I don’t think I will ever be able to go without it ever again. Or at least, I will never forget my absolute and complete love for it.

 

Jasmine Green

 

Most people have been to a Chinese Restaurant before. If you haven’t been, not even once, then I think you guys should definitely go to one and check it out!

 

Anyway, this Jasmine Green tea tastes like the tea that they serve in the restaurants except it is so much more better!

 

Until I had my first cup of Jasmine Green, I never thought that I would be thinking that the Chinese Restaurant tea would be cheap tasting.

 

This is an amazing green tea. It isn’t super strong, and has a faint floral scent to it. I honestly cannot think of a bad thing to say about this tea.

 

With Medium caffeine, the description of the tea is as follows: “Fragrant organic jasmine flowers are laid atop organic green tea leaves as their scent is naturally embraced. Scented three times, this smooth green tea has layers of subtle fragrance and hints of moonlight.”

 

Reading this description now, I realize that moonlight was the scent and taste I couldn’t pinpoint when I’m drinking the tea. I know, that sounds completely absurd but really. Something about it seems celestial. It’s so light yet rich with taste and smell that it seems otherworldly.

 

I cannot wait to try out other teas! However, it is SLIGHTLY expensive. 6.99 for 16 packets which boils down to around 43c/bag. Yes, it doesn’t sound expensive, but the shipping is around 5 dollars so in some ways, unless you are spending over $39 you will have to pay another 5 dollars.

 

Will I Repurchase It?

Absolutely. While I am not SUPER duper obsessed, green tea is a staple in every Asian family and it is now a staple in my tea collection (which isn’t very big sadly…).

I am using these tea bags sparingly. I can usually use a tea bag for about 2-4 days depending on the days I am drinking them. And even then, I can typically get about 4-5 cups worth out of them/day depending on whether or not I am bothered to walk downstairs and refill my mug.


I don’t think that the price is horrible enough for me to give it any sort of bad reviews.

 

And so, my overall rating for Numi Organic Tea is, of course, 10/10. It is well worth the price and well worth the shipping rate. The fact that it is organic and has so many different types of tea makes the brand that much more amazing.

 

Let me know what you think or if you’ve tried out the brand before, let me know your favourites!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

One thought on “Numi Organic Tea Review

  1. Great article! I’m so happy you’re exploring the wonders of tea!

    If you or anyone is looking for tea that will kick-start your metabolism and help manage weight, I highly suggest drinking oolong or matcha. Oolong (sometimes called wuolong) is the most diverse category for tea because it can be anything in-between green or black tea. Oolongs not only have a complex and rich taste (and can be blended with anything), but they are renowned for being the “weight-loss tea” because they speed up your metabolism. Matcha is a more high-quality Japanese green tea that is shade grown and then ground up into a fine powder which is whipped into hot water to make a delicious, frothy beverage. It has the highest amount of nutrients you’ll find in tea and really energizes the whole body.

    Tea is so good for you! I’m glad you are sharing the love!

Leave a Reply

