Beginner Make-Up Essentials

I never knew what make up products to buy when I started experimenting with make-up. I wish I had Googled, or YouTubed (yes, that is an official verb in MY dictionary xD) so I knew, but these were all things I discovered on my own. This was the beginning of my large and getting larger make up collection.


1. Eyeliner

I know that if you watch a lot of YouTube videos where YouTubers will talk about their make up essentials they usually don’t say that eyeliner is an essential and here’s why: no matter what kind of eyeliner you purchase, it will be hard for an amateur to use it correctly.

I know this for a fact because when I started out with eyeliner, I KNOW I did it wrong.

I was one of those girls that wore eyeliner all the way through her lower waterliner and it wasn’t even on the waterline. I didn’t know how to wear it. And my mother isn’t good with make up (she’s the kind of Asian lady that uses lipstick as a blush and that’s about all the make up she uses) so I didn’t know anyone that could help me.

But if you know how to use it correctly, it can be really beneficial for your whole look.

Tips: Get a pencil eyeliner. Pencil eyeliners are much more forgiving if you do it wrong. While it do smudge, it is also easy to remove. I suggest lifting up your eyelid until you can see the paleness of your waterline under your eyelashes and then gently rubbing the eyeliner back and forth. I suggest blunting up a new eyeliner first so it doesn’t poke your eye out! Also do not lift up your lids too high. Life it just so you can see it so your eyeliner doesn’t slip into your eyes. This sounds REALLY scary, but practice does make perfect!

In order to remove the eyeliner COMPLETELY, get an oil based make up remover and a cotton swap, dip the swab into the remover and then like applying the eyeliner, gently wipe it out. The more eyeliner you put on the more swabs you have to use. You should end up seeing the whites of your waterliner again after removing the eyeliner otherwise you’re not doing it correctly!

2. Mascara

This is definitely a staple! It really helps brighten your eyes and makes your eyes a lot bigger.

The best mascara’s out there are definitely some drugstore ones. But, to be fair, I don’t tend to invest money in high end mascaras because mascara’s don’t have a super long shelf life so for me, it’s a waste of money. Plus, there are a lot of drugstore mascara’s to choose from!

Covergirl, Maybelline and L’Oreal mascara’s are one of the best. Waterproof is also the best kind of mascara’s because it doesn’t fall out.

Tips: Put on one coat, wait for it to dry, and then put on a second coat to make your lashes even longer.

To remove the mascara put remover on a cotton pad and hold it by your eyes for a few seconds and then gently wiping it off.

3. Eyelash Curler

If you want to volumize your curls and help the curls stay curled after you put on mascara then this is an absolute necessity!

I have nothing else to say about this.

4. Tinted Lipbalm/balm stick/MLBB Lipstick

(MLBB = my lips but better)

These types of lipsticks/balms are easy for you to play around with. They aren’t super dark or bright and you can learn to play around with different make up looks. Even if you wear a lipstick, just make sure you apply it gently and don’t just slather it onto your lips and call it quits.

The problem with lipsticks however is that it will show on your teeth if they leak and they can also get onto your skin if it bleeds out of your lips.

Tips: If you are wearing a MLBB lipstick, to prevent it from getting onto your teeth without you knowing, put your finger into your mouth and pucker your mouth like when you whistle and pull your finger out. Excess lipstick will come onto your finger and not get stuck on your teeth!

To prevent it from it bleeding, I would suggest you dabbing your lipstick on rather than swiping it across so it is more precise. OR, you can use a lip pencil, but even I don’t use a lip pencil so I don’t think it’s a necessary step.

5. Tinted Moisturizer/BB or CC Cream

Foundation is hard to use at first. Even after I’ve been with make up for so long, I still have some problems.

So, a tinted moisturizer or a bb/cc cream is lighter and is much easier to blend. Those creams don’t need excess brushes to blend out- fingers are okay.

6. Neutral Eyeshadow Palette

Now, personally, I don’t think this is a necessary product but I know a lot of gurus think it’s necessary. I can see why. I think it’s great because it usually has easy colors that, no matter what you do wrong, will look good on you. But I cannot say much because, well, I don’t like using eyeshadow.

Let me know any other staple products beginners should know!

xo

∞ sofieyah ∞

 

Leave a Reply

